Council Staff

The council staff supports the fishery management decision-making process. It coordinates meetings and provides information to the Council, its advisory groups, fishermen and the public.  The Council’s executive director carries out the tasks assigned by the Council and, with the senior scientists and program officer, directs and oversees the technical and support staff. The technical staff analyzes alternatives for regulatory change for the Council’s review, with a focus on biology, economics, and social science, ecosystems and habitat. The technical staff also develops fishery management documents and regulations based on the Council’s decisions.

Contact Us

Kitty Simonds Executive Director (808) 522-8220
Loren Bullard Technical Assistant (808) 522-6042
Joshua DeMello Fishery Analyst/Precious Corals Coordinator (808) 522-7493
Elysia Granger Administrative Officer (808) 522-6012
Bella Hirayama Travel/Administrative Clerk (808) 522-6043
Randy Holmen Fiscal Officer (808) 522-8167
Asuka Ishizaki Protected Species Coordinator (808) 522-8224
Eric Kingma International Fisheries/Enforcement/NEPA Coordinator (808) 522-8141
Mark Mitsuyasu Fisheries Program Officer/Bottomfish Coordinator (808) 522-8223
Marlowe Sabater Marine Ecosystem Scientist (808) 522-8143
Sylvia Spalding Communications Officer (808) 522-5341
Mark Fitchett Pelagic Fisheries Ecosystem Scientist (808) 522-8034


Pacific Island Coordinators

Vacant Guam Coordinator
Nate Ilaoa American Samoa Coordinator (684) 633-5175
Jack Ogumoro CNMI Coordinator (670) 322-9830



1164 Bishop Street, 1400
Honolulu, Hawaii  96813
Tel:  (808) 522-8220
Fax:  (808) 522-8226