

ACTION MEMORANDUM

167th Council Meeting
August 3, 2016
Council Office
Honolulu, Hawaii
And by Teleconference/Webconference

Regarding the Request for Expansion of the Marine National Monument around the Northwestern Hawaiian Islands to the extent of the US Exclusive Economic Zone, the Council:

1. Adopted its resolution that identifies concerns regarding monument expansion and authorized staff to make changes and edits consistent with the substantive provisions, and when it is complete, directs staff to send it to President Obama and copy the White House Council on Environmental Quality, US Secretaries of Commerce, the Interior, and State, and other parties, as appropriate.

Regarding the US Territory Bigeye Tuna Limit Options, the Council:

2. Directed staff to continue to work with NMFS PIRO and PIFSC to develop options and analyses that will support Council consideration of the specification of 2017 Territory longline catch and transfer limits at the October meeting.

Regarding SSC Member Changes, the Council:

3. Approved the retirement of the following SSC members after the October 2016 meeting:

SSC Member	Years of Service
Judy Amesbury	10
Charles Daxboeck	30
Rick Deriso	24
John Hampton	24
Pierre Kleiber	13
Molly Lutcavage	10
Minling Pan	10
John Sibert	24

- 4. Further approved the appointment to the SSC of the following:
 - a. Professor Ray Hilborn: University of Washington
 - b. Dr. Steve Martell: Private Consultant, International Halibut Commission
 - c. Dr. Debra T. Cabrera Social Sciences Faculty, St. John's School, Guam,
 - d. Dr. Shelton Harley: New Zealand Directorate of Fisheries Management (invited)
 - e. Dr. Justin Hospital: Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center

Regarding Advisory Group Member changes, the Council:

- 5. Appointed Beatrice "Tricee" Perez Limtiaco to the Marine Planning and Climate Change Committee for the remainder of the 2014-2016 term and for the 2017-2019 term.
- 6. Recommended the following changes to the Advisory Panel:
 - a. Appointed Krista Corry the Chair of the American Samoa AP
 - b. Appointed Gordon Yamasaki to the American Samoa AP
 - c. Appointed Juan Diego Blanco to the CNMI AP
 - d. Appointed Lino Tenorio to the CNMI AP
 - e. Removed James Kuwada from the Hawaii AP
 - f. Appointed Ed Ebisui III to the Hawaii AP

7. Approved the Advisory Subpanel changes as presented in the following table:

• •	AS FEP AP	Hawaii FEP AP	Marianas FEP AP	
Sub Panels			Guam	<u>CNMI</u>
Pelagic Fisheries	Krista Corry	Nathan Abe	Alan Ainbinder	Mike Fleming
	Gordon Yamasaki	Gary Beals	James Borja	Pete Itibus
	Taulauniu Hunkin	Geoff Walker	Matthew Orot	Cecilio Raiukiulipiy
Island Fisheries	Peter Crispin	Ed Ebisui III	Ken Borja	Lino Tenorio
	Nathan Sagapoutele	Layne Nakagawa	Manuel Duenas	Richard Farrell
	Will Sword	Clay Tam	Stephen Meno	Manny Ramon
Ecosystems and	Mac Aveina	Lyn McNutt	Cliff Kyota	Floyd Masga
Habitat	Nonu Tuisamoa	Daniel Roudebush	Jason Miller	Ray Tebuteb
	Ray Tulafono	Brealand Tam	Felix Reyes	Juan Diego Blanco
Indigenous	Faasala Augafa	Roy Sokolowski	Ray Flores	Lawrence Concepcion
Rights	Lafoga Alovao	Tate Marks	Peter Perez	Ray Dela Cruz
3	Brian Thompson	Basil Oshiro	Jesse Rosario	Perry Mesngon
Alternates	Allen Snow	Shyla Moon	Dale Alvarez	
			Roberto Cabreza	
			Tom Camacho	
			Bill Bradford	

Regarding the IUCN World Conservation Congress, the Council:

8. Supported staff participation in the IUCN World Conservation Congress and General Assembly to be held in Honolulu on September 1-10, 2016. The Council directed staff to participate in the voting of IUCN resolutions, as applicable and consistent with Council policies and authority.