

# 40 years of Fishery Management in American Samoa Archipelago

# 1976 to 1990

- ⇒ Congress passes the Fishery Conservation and Management Act (1976), aka Magnuson-Stevens Act (MSA)
- ⇒ Establishes the Western Pacific Regional Fishery Management Council
- ⇒ Fishery Management Plans implemented for Precious Corals (PCFMP) and Crustaceans (1983)
- ⇒ NOAA creates Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary (1986)
- ⇒ Bottomfish and Seamount Groundfish Management Plan (BFMP) (1986) bans destructive fishing practices such as bottom trawls, explosives, poisons and bottom set nets
- ⇒ Pelagic Fishery Management Plan implemented (PFMP) (1987), banning drift gillnets

## 1991 to 2000

- ⇒ Pelagic FMP Amendment 6 designates all tuna species as fish under US management authority (1992)
- ⇒ Sustainable Fisheries Act amends MSA to address bycatch and define essential fish habitat and communities (1996)
- ⇒ Omnibus amendment implements bycatch, essential fish habitat and communities provisions of the MSA (1999)
- ⇒ Control date (July 15, 2000) for entry into the American Samoa Longline fishery created in response to growth of Samoa-based Longline fishery (2000)

# Swains Island Cook Islands Western Samoa Manua Islands Cook Islands Tutuila Rose Atoll No-Take MPA (2004) Large Vessel Prohibited Area (2002) Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary (1986) Rose Atoll NWR (1973) Rose Atoll NWR (1973) Swains Island Cook Islands Coral Reef Ecosystem Regulatory Area (2004); Pelagic Fishery Management Area (1987); Bottomfish Management Subarea (1986); Crustaceans Permit Area (1987); Bottomfish Management Subarea (1986); Crustaceans Permit Area (1987); Bottomfish Management Subarea (1986); Crustaceans Permit Area (1983); Exclusive Economic Zone (1976)

### 2001 to 2009

- ⇒ Amendment to the Pelagic FMP that prohibits fishing for pelagic species by vessels greater that 50 ft in length in EEZ waters to 0-50 nm around the islands of American Samoa (2002)
- ⇒ Sea turtle handling rules for longline, troll and handline boats targeting pelagic species (2002)
- → Congress passes Shark Finning Prohibition Act, prohibiting the retention or landing of shark fins with associated carcasses (2002)
- ⇒ Coral Reef Ecosystem Fishery Management Plan (CREFMP) (2004) establishes permit and reporting requirements, a no-take MPA at Rose Atoll within 50 fathoms, and prohibits destructive and non-selective gear
- ⇒ Limited entry system established for pelagic longlining in EEZ around American Samoa requiring federal permits, VMS, federal logbooks. General longline permittees to carry turtle mitigation gear(2005)
- New species (deep water shrimp and pelagic squid) included in Crustacean and Pelagic FMPs, respectively (2008)
- ⇒ Presidential Proclamation 8337 establishes the Rose Atoll Marine National Monument (2009)

# 2010 to 2016

- New archipelago-based Fishery Ecosystem Plans replaces species-based FMPs (2010)
- ⇒ Omnibus amendment establishes eligibility and procedures for Community Development Plans (CDP) (2010)
- ⇒ Annual catch limits and accountability measures implemented for all managed species not receiving international exemption (2012)
- ⇒ NOAA adds five additional discrete geographical areas to the Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary and renames it the National Marine Sanctuary of American Samoa, amending sanctuary regulations and applying these regulations to activities in the sanctuary (2012)
- ⇒ Implementing regulations for Rose Atoll Marine National Monument prohibit all fishing within 12 nm of Rose Atoll (2013)
- Exemption instituted between 12 and 50 nm around Tutuila,
  Swains, and Manua Islands Large Vessel Prohibited Area (2015)



