Council Members

\The Council has 13 voting members and three non-voting members. A chair and four vice chairs (one from each island area) are elected annually by the Council members.

Council members must balance competing interests while trying to make decisions for the overall benefit of the nation. Council members are advised by the Council’s advisory panels and committees, Council staff, the public, states and territories, academia and the National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS).

Eight members who are appointed by the governors of Hawaii, Guam, American Samoa and CNMI and appointed by the Secretary of Commerce:

John Gourley,
Micronesian Environmental Services
(2020-2023, CNMI, obligatory),
Manuel “Manny” Duenas,
Guam Fishermen’s Cooperative Association
(2021-2024, Guam, obligatory),
Vice Chair
Matthew Ramsey,
Conservation International
(2021-2024, Hawaii, obligatory),
McGrew Rice,
Ihu Nui Charters
(2020-2023, CNMI, at-large)
Roger Dang,
Fresh Island Fish Co.
(2020-2023, Hawaii, at-large)
Vice Chair
William Sword,
Pacific Energy South-West Pacific Ltd
(2022-2025, American Samoa, obligatory)
Vice Chair
Dr. Judith Guthertz
University of Guam
(2022-2025, Guam, at-large)
Shaelene Kamaka’ala
Hawaiian Islands Land Trust
(2022-2025, Hawaii, at-large)
  Sylvan Igisomar
CNMI Dept. of Lands and Natural Resources
Vice Chair


Four designated state officials:

  • Suzanne Case, Hawaii Dept. of Land & Natural Resources, DLNR Chairperson
  • Archie Taotasi Soliai, American Samoa Dept. of Marine & Wildlife Resources, Director
  • Sylvan Igisomar, CNMI Dept. of Lands and Natural Resources, Acting Secretary
  • Chelsa Muña, Guam Dept. of Agriculture, Director

Four designated federal officials:

  • C. Colin Brinkman, U.S. Department of State, Office of Marine Conservation, Foreign Affairs Office
  • RADM Michael Day, U.S. Coast Guard 14th District, District Commander
  • Sarah Malloy, Pacific Islands Regional Office, National Marine Fisheries Service, Acting Regional Administrator
  • Brian Peck, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service – RAMNM , Superintendent

Standing Committees

  • American Samoa Archipelago Ecosystem
    • William Sword
    • Brian Peck
    • Archie Taotasi Soliai
  • Enforcement/VMS
    • McGrew Rice
    • Archie Taotasi Soliai
  • Executive and Budget
    • Sylvan Igisomar, Vice Chair, CNMI
    • Manny Duenas, Vice Chair, GU

    • John Gourley, Chairman

    • William Sword, Vice Chair, AS
    • Roger Dang, Vice Chair, HI
  • Fishery Rights of Indigenous People
    • Sylvan Igisomar
    • Chelsa Muña, Chair
  • Hawaii Archipelago & PRIA Ecosystems
    • Suzanne Case
    • Matthew Ramsey
    • Roger Dang

    • Brian Peck
    • McGrew Rice
  • Mariana Archipelago Ecosystem
    • Sylvan Igisomar, Co-chair
    • Chelsa Muña, Co-chair
    • Manny Duenas
    • John Gourley
    • Brian Peck
  • Pelagic & International Ecosystems
    • Roger Dang, Chair
    • C. Colin Brinkman
    • Roger Dang
    • Chelsa Muña
    • Archie Taotasi Soliai
    • Sarah Malloy
  • Program Planning & Research
    • Sylvan Igisomar
    • John Gourley, Chair
  • Protected Species
    • Brian Peck
    • Suzanne Case
    • Sarah Malloy
    • McGrew Rice, Chair

Financial Disclosures for Nominated Members:

2021 Report to Congress on Councils on the Regional Fishery Management Councils and SSC Members Financial Interest Disclosure and Recusal Requirements